Jehovah Rapha


Jehovah Rapha = God our healer

Over the years I have grown to know God as my Father, my provider, my strong tower, my Yahweh, my great I AM, my friend, my comforter, etc. However, I have a new category that God is serves in my life that I now appreciate…He is my Jehovah Rapha, God my Healer.  

The last 7 months have been a journey for my family in health and faith.  In February, my mom was diagnosed with Congestive Heart Failure (i.e. Heart Disease).  I imagine it will be an ongoing battle in our lives. After all, my grandmother had it as well, and she was diagnosed with it at the very same age that my mom was when she was diagnosed.  In the past 7 months: we have spent a totally of about 5 days in the actual hospital, had about a dozen tests done, lots of blood work, x-rays, stress tests of all types, had an angiogram, doctors visits, medications given, medications changed, heart monitor for 2 weeks, several tears shed, discussions about pace makers, about a million prayers prayed, and at least a twenty proclamations that Satan has no power over the anointed speeches (on my part). 

My mom began in February with about 24% blood flood.  An average person has between 40-75% blood flow.  Also, about the same amount of what I call “pumpage” or amount that the heart pumps out, which for an average person is 50%.  We have not been sure whether her heart would naturally heal with medications, exercise, rest, and diet or if we would have to actually get assistance with a pace maker.  Sooo, in May when we found out that there was not ANY blockage (yay!).  We were not sure whether this vital muscule would work the was it was desgined to work with out help.  Even just a month ago, the doctor was talking extensively about defibulators.  However, by the grace of God, belief in Jehovah Rapha, submitting the flesh to the words that are more powerful than any physcian, diet change, rest, medication, and exercise.  We found out…

My mom is at 45% (i think) blood flow and 50 % pumpage!!!!  I cried when the doctor said that the defibulator was “not even an option at this point, and not needed!”  He said come back in December!  Praise God!

Some things I’ve learned…

1- “Jesus went through all the towns and villages, teaching in their synagogues, preaching the good news of the kingdom and healing every disease and sickness.” Matthew 9:35  God does not give disease.  Jesus went about getting rid of it!  Therefore, it is not a punishment, or test, etc etc.

2- In Deuteronomy 28 there are blessings and curses…disease and sickness is a curse for the disobedient.  Well, that is the Old Law.  Jesus already did it.  He took all those nasty diseases and curses for us…He paid all of the debt of our disobedience for us in the flesh, so we do not have to pay for those in the flesh NOW or EVER…  I think we forget this and think we deserve it sometimes…but no.

3-Not everyone is given a second chance…at life.  There is still many reasons (that I can think of) why my mom still is here.  She has so much more to do.  It just simply was not her time.  I am so thankful to have her here.  I know that she will continue to do wonderful things and give God the glory.  

Even though this has been a journey, and we are still on it…she is still healing, more improvement to happen, and I am sure days when it will get the best of her. I am so thankful to of gotten to know this side of my Father, I AM, and Jehovah Rapha.  I think of the way Jesus went about healing people, touching and loving the untouchable, and He wanted to not just give life to those on earth but also life eternally after earth. 

Here is a song that Hillsong made “Healer” but I love to listen to the version by Kari Jobe.  In ways it’s been my anthem.

“You hold my every moment
You calm my raging seas
You walk with me through fire
And heal all my disease

I trust in You
I trust in You

I believe You’re my Healer
I believe You are all I need
I believe You’re my Portion
I believe You’re more than enough for me
Jesus You’re all I need

Nothing is impossible for You
Nothing is impossible for You
Nothing is impossible for You
You hold my world in Your hands”

Posted in: 1

Leave a Reply

