Broken Hearted


I am so honored.

Every week at WOW we have a prayer box and time set aside where teens can write down their prayers and place them in the box.  Then the youth ministers all take turns reading over them and praying over them.  I just got done reading the 60+ prayers that these sweet teens have written.

I am just blown completely away by the amount of selfless teens we have.  They are not just all concerned for themselves (even though everybody is), but there are fervently saying prayers for their friends, families, friends of friends, and people over seas.  

That is the great thing about ministry.  You never have it all figured out. If someone ever says they do then run! These kids teach me so much.  The personalities are interesting…some are poetic, some straight and to the point, some formal, and some cries of help. 

This morning I was reflecting on Psalm 139.  God knows so much about us.  The worries I have even when I can’t pinpoint what exactly the worry is…He can pierce right through and know it!  Also, I have been reading a book called “Crazy Love” by Francis Chan.  He said, “God does not have to know us so well, but He chooses to.”  I can read these prayer requests that just rack my little heart all day and feel empathetic or whatever, but God is on a whole other level… He chooses to know all of these things about us, and loves us the same.  

There is a song I know that says, “Break my heart for what breaks yours…” I feel like for me these break my heart. In a good way.  I feel like I can see how God can look at me when I pray to Him…His eyes crinkle around the edges, a small smile on the face, and deep compassion goes out to His child.

I hope God continues to break my heart through youth ministry.  What is it that breaks your heart?

Posted in: 1

Leave a Reply

