Cheers!


The weekend of our Senior High Retreat and ACU’s Homecoming were the same.  Therefore, I thought it would be fun to go back to ACU for a little trip to visit friends, mentors, professors, etc…

It was so weird.

It was as if time never stopped.

Ok, I know time never stops.  Things just went on as always.  There was still lots of bird poop on the sidewalk under the beautiful trees by the Bible building.  My heels still clacked as I walked through the Bible building.  That random chick that took Biblical Greek for fun was still at Sharkey’s to say hi.  Intramural games were still going on in the cold.  Chili’s was still the hopping place on a Friday night.  I still ran into someone I knew at every location I went to…including the gas station.  The professors in the Bible department were still making jokes at Brent Bailey for being such a good Greek student and him being my Greek translation buddy (I hated Greek).  The singing in chapel was still beautiful.

It kind of reminded me of the theme song of Cheers, an 80’sish sitcom.  The theme song goes:

“Making your way in the world today takes everything you’ve got.
Taking a break from all your worries, sure would help a lot.
Wouldn’t you like to get away?
Sometimes you want to go
Where everybody knows your name,
and they’re always glad you came.
You wanna be where you can see,
our troubles are all the same
You wanna be where everybody knows
Your name.”

That is how I felt.  Everybody knows my name there…ok not everybody, but a lot do.  They know my character. I have history.  I even had a group of new Kojie pledges ask if I was “Kojie Caroline.”  I was able to drive straight to my friends houses, and not get lost or have to mapquest it like I do on a daily basis in Dallas. I was able to go into Robert Oglesby’s office and talk about life, ministry, friends, boys, etc and not have to explain anything, because I am already known.  I was able to sit in Larry Musick’s office and talk about ministry, Nashville, and Dallas, and him be able to encourage me that I was set up so perfectly to be doing what I am doing and that God’s fingerprints are alllllll over it…all the way back to growing up at Harpeth Hills at 16!

It is good to be known.

It is good to have people that really know you say, “Well done.”  It is also good to be able to look back and think, “well done” yourself.

Well done in graduating.  Well done in taking that opportunity.  Well done in making those friends. Well done on joining Ko Jo Kai. Well done living off campus. Well done for breaking that tie.  Well done for soaking that in. Well done for getting involved.  Well done on that internship.  Well done in overcoming that fear.  Well done for being responsible. Well done in doing the unexpected.  Well done for doing your passion.  Well done for not marrying him.  Well done for surviving that situation.  Well done for not failing to launch.  Well done for being balanced.  Well done for taking my professors advice. Well done for making connections.  Well done for giving back.  Well done for focusing on your work.  Well done in saving money.  Well done persevering.  Well done using life experiences to bless. Well done keeping your mouth shut.  Well done for calling them out.  Well done.

There is nothing sweeter that having people that love you, believe in you, care about you, and know you tell you “well done.”

As I look back at those “well done” moments, I can honestly say that if I had gotten what I had prayed for, in some of those situations, it might not would have turned out so sweetly.  My God is so much bigger than me.  He knows what He’s doing. He has a plan. For you. For me.  He can use ANY circumstance to glorify Him.  He can make any ugly, annoying, weird thing, person, and situation beautiful. God has been good to me.  I am so thankful for those well done moments.  The ones I realize for myself and the ones pointed out to me by others.  It renews your faith to see how far you have come.  How far I have come with God.  How can I worry about this big thing or that little thing?  God has had His plan for me in the work faaaarrrrr before I was able to talk.  He knows what He’s doing. I have full confidence in Him.  He works things out.

All I know for sure, is when God gives you a word–Go with it. Full throttle.

And don’t forget to say “Cheers!” when something is well done.  Celebrate life with those who know you and appreciate you.

 

 

Posted in: 1

Leave a Reply

