Well, the cat’s out of the bag, I guess.


*Disclaimer… this is really meant for the youth at HPUMC.

Hey guys,

Well, the cat’s out of the bag, I guess.

I want you to know, that all this came to shock me as much as it is probably shocking you.  My hands are tied, and I truly have no control over this.

As you know, there are some financial issues going on in the economy.  As much as I would like for this to not effect me, it does. As much as I wish it did not effect the church, it does. There were some budget cuts that have happened to the whole church, including the youth ministry.  In light of that, I was let go or laid off.

Is this convenient? No, it’s Christmas!  Losing your job is never convenient.

Is it fair? No.

Is it right for the youth budget? Probably. Yes.  I totally understand and respect the decisions that had to be made.  You should too.

As my former boss, Tova, encouraged me, I will be just fine. I have a degree in youth ministry. I have experience. I was really not born or made with my personality to be in the background. I am a leader, and when I am forced to be a follower…I get frustrated.  I don’t thrive behind the scenes. Can I do behind the scenes work? Yes. I will be ok, and already have interviewed places…and have more interviews set up.  Ministry is a calling not a career for me.

What I want you to know:

You can always call me, text me, tweet me, facebook me, etc…I will always answer you. I have yet to have a kid/teen say that I never answered them, and I am not about to have that happen. You will always hold a special place in my heart. I have worked many places, but you guys are the first youth group for me to work with out of college…and simply for that you will always be remembered in a fond way.  Remember, God loved you (and still does) so much that He sent His son to die for your sins.  Thank you for making me feel welcome, and also thank you for letting me rejoice with you in the new space!  Lastly, just like I said Wednesday, “You are somebody; You are God’s child, and God doesn’t make junk.”  Live in a heavenly mindset!

I love you.

Posted in: 1

3 thoughts on “Well, the cat’s out of the bag, I guess.

  1. Juls says:

    I love you & this doesn’t mean that we aren’t still going to hang out!! We are still going to have our coffee date. once crazy exams are over (:

  2. Audrey says:

    I love you and i am so sorry this had to happen! you are an amazing speaker and i can tell god is working through you! PLEASE VISIT! We love you!

  3. carolinehare says:

    Oh thank you girls! I will be traveling a lot next week, but when I get back in town maybe we can all grab coffee or yogurt or something! Love you girls! 🙂

Leave a Reply

