Where the Blacktop Ends


Have you ever felt like life was spinning out of control?

Have you ever felt like you didn’t know where to start to even fix a problem?

Have you ever needed a break even though you have tons of free time?

Have you ever gotten sick of talking about something?

Have you ever been weary?

Have you ever realized you were enslaved to something voluntarily?

Have you ever needed to just laugh until you cry?

If you answered yes to any of these then…
maybe you need to kick off your shoes and run in bare feet, where the grass, dirt, and gravel all meet
maybe you need to go back to the well and visit old friends
maybe you need to feed your soul
where the blacktop ends.

Ok, so I’m not thaaaat clever. The last little paragraph was from a Keith Urban song. However, I was feeling this way. So I did just this figuratively. For me I have 2 places I go to that are essentially the places where my blacktops end. 1) I go to Gateway to revive my faith in God when I am feeling this way. Well, the last couple weeks I have done that. Check. 2) I go see friends, specifically, the people of Tusculum Church of Christ to revive my faith in people. A week and a half ago, I made a quick decision that I needed to go to Nashville to see these people.

I walked in the church building on Sunday morning and the words that came out of Rob Touchstone’s mouth were “Welcome Home!” It’s true. I would call it my home base. I have yet to find a group of people that continually pour out love like Tusculum. Whoever said you can’t go home is crazy. You can go home.

At the top of this blog is a picture. There are trees…I am there…Ya know…scroll up…Ok, now that you have found it, I will tell you where it is. That picture was taken by one of those sweet Tusculum people at Belle Meade Mansion. Belle Meade Mansion is this beautiful mansion located in Belle Meade in Nashville. When I was growing up, my mom and I would go on walks there on some Sunday afternoons. We would talk about life. Well, as I have gotten older, it has continued to be a very special place for me. It is a place I go to be alone with God. It is beautiful. There are gardens. There is so much history in the grounds as well. I have had some times when I went there and God just revealed His promises to me. It is a place where my blacktop ends. It’s a place where I go when I have walked essentially as far as I can walk. I get there, and I really can stare up at the beautiful fall leaves and flowers. I can realize that God is so much bigger than me. He is the one that is big enough to after I am off of the blacktop and can’t walk any farther picks up the slack. God is the one who lets me step on His feet, and He does the work and just lets me look around and be revived. This is truly a place where I can get my soul fed. As is Gateway. As is through the genuine people of Tusculum.

Where does your blacktop end?

Posted in: 1

Leave a Reply

