So far so good…


Well, it is 2010.

I rang in the new year in Nashville, Tennessee by having dinner with Jana, going to a movie, and then my little sister had 3 little 11 year old girls over to spend the night.  It is so fun to watch kids that age react to the new year…noise makers, top hats, and all…

You know, it seemed like everywhere I looked–twitter, facebook, newspapers, etc people were just not real satisfied with the way that 2009 went.  I will be the first to confess that 2009 had it’s ups and downs…

KJK winning Sing Song- UP

Mom’s heart- DOWN

Job Interviews- UP & DOWN

Lost a friend- DOWN

Graduation- UP

Mom’s surgery- DOWN

Got the position @ HPUMC- UP

Mom’s heart results- UP

New places, people, & things in Dallas- UP & DOWN

Loss of job- DOWN

Paid 1st note on student loan- DOWN

Traveling & reconnecting with friends- UP

These are just a few examples of what all has gone on for me this year.  I just feel like God has great things in store for this year.  Pastor Robert Morris at Gateway was talking about hearing from the Lord a couple weeks ago. He went through a step by step process of how he likes to hear from God. It is fairly similar to how I usually go about getting a word or direction. It was shortly after December 3rd, & in reaction to his lesson I decided that God, of course, is the one I need to turn directly to, so I will break down how I tried Robert Morris’ way, & then tell you the word I received.

First, I was home alone. I shut the door to my room, and I started listening to some of my favorite worship music…Gateway worship, Hillsong, David Crowder, Kari Jobe, Jeremy Camp, & Jars of Clay. I just started worshiping. “Enter into His  gates with thanksgiving & His courts with praise; give thanks to Him & praise His name” (Psalm 100:4)

Second, when I felt like I was in the spirit and ready, I started writing down my prayers. Talking to God. You know. Here is the problem… Here is what I know… Here is what I want…You promised me this…“With all prayer and petition, pray at all times in the Spirit, and with this in view, be on the alert with all perseverance and petition for all the saints” (Ephesians 6:18).

Third, I reread what I had written. I started looking for key words I mentioned over and over again. Words that were biblical. “It is the same with my word. I send it out, and it always produces fruit. It will accomplish all I want it to, and it will prosper everywhere I send it” ( Isaiah 55:11). I found 3: top, job, obvious.

Forth, I put those words together. “I pray that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give you a spirit of wisdom and revelation as you come to know him, so that, with the eyes of your heart enlightened, you may know what is the hope to which he has called you, what are the riches of his glorious inheritance among the saints, and what is the immeasurable greatness of his power for us who believe, according to the working of his great power” (Ephesians 1:17-19). I started thinking…well there is a book of the Bible called “Job.”  So I turned to Job. I started looking for something obvious. Well I found a verse I had CIRCLED that was at the TOP of the page.  That is pretty obvious if you ask me. The verse did not make sense to my situation, so I went back a couple verses and reread the paragraph all together. It said:

“Bear with me a little, and I will show you that there are yet words to speak on God’s behalf. I will fetch my knowledge from afar; I will ascribe righteousness to my Maker. For truly my words are not false; One who is perfect in knowledge is with you.” Job 36:2-4

Fifth, I flipped out. “For My thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways My ways, saith the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways, and My thoughts than your thoughts” (Isaiah 55: 8-9). I mean, WHOA, WHOA, WHOA….Boy, does that preach to me right now.  Just what I needed to hear.  The last few weeks I have studied and restudied that verse. Dwelt and meditated upon it. Prayed it. Quoted it in my head before I spoke in front of people.

So my response to how this year is going so far is…

So far so good.

I have a word to stand on.  I have slept in 4 different beds in the last 5 days.  I have been with family in Nashville, TN. I have spoken the word to people in Alabama.  I have met many new people. I have spent time laughing til I cried playing Apples to Apples with friends from Nashville. I have enjoyed the last 18 hours at home in Bedford, TX.  I am headed to the First Conference at Gateway tonight and tomorrow night. I have a hair cut scheduled for next week. Next week I will be traveling some more.

So far so good.

Posted in: 1

Leave a Reply

