The Woo


The Woo.

At Cove Church, the staff was asked to use Tom Rath’s “Strength Finder” to find out our leadership strengths.  In a meeting today, one of our staff members presented the results to us broken up by department.  It was interesting.  The youth staff was fairly balanced.  My top category in strengths was “woo.”

Woo

I know it seemed weird to me too.  Although, when I read the description it really made sense.  To be in the category of “woo” means that you can walk into a room and win the room over.  It means you go into a room and seek to meet new people.  Usually these people are up front.  Networkers.  I remember taking an assessment my freshman year of college (maybe the same one) where I also got the woo, but the woo was lower on my list back then.  I have kind of grown into the role where I have been up front more.  I always have been outgoing.  Generally speaking, people usually like me…even if they resist at first.

In staff meeting, we were talking about how the woo factor is needed to influence people, bring people to motion or motivation.  Usually the woo has the “it” factor.

The thing is the woo factor can move people not just in a good way but in a bad way as well.  You have to make sure the person or people with the woo factor are influencing people in a good way…Stewardship. You know, to whom much is given much is expected.

Power.

I feel like the word I was given this year was “power.”

I believe that God is going to display His power to me in mighty ways this year.  I feel like he already has.  I feel like this year I will learn to recognize God in a new light as all powerful.   Last year God revealed Himself to me as Jehovah Jirah, Healer…this year it is Powerful.

You know, on the High School retreat a few weeks ago, Encounter, we talked about the Supernatural and the Holy Spirit.  It was great!  I think the teens really learned a lot.  However, due to the fact that I keep feeling like I hear the word “power” everywhere…I have continued to dwell on one of the scriptures used that weekend.  It is where Paul is talking to the church in Corinth about the thorn in his side.  He says in 2 Corinthians 12:8-10

“Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away  from me.  But he said to me, ‘My grace is suffcient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore, I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.  That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties.  For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

Whew.

Have I got a thing or two to learn from Paul (Understatement of the year)!

But, no, really.

God’s power is made perfect in our weakness. Have you ever noticed that when you are weak…God is so strong!  He is so powerful!  He shows up in mighty ways!  Well, I have seen it time and time again in my life.

Paul. The dude with the ultimate “woo factor.”  I mean please. He still beats out Beth Moore, Creflo, Rick Warren, and Joel Osteen any day.  I mean those awesome “it” preachers still have to use Paul’s words to teach half the time.  He  drew so many people to him physically by being close to different churches.  He did all for the cause of Christ. I mean, he even knew the people in the churches well enough to call them out by name in his letters sometimes.  He would come visit for a short time. He still was able to pin point a problem even from far away maybe even by guessing what was going on because he knew them.  He wooed them.

However, he was given a thorn in his flesh.

He was weak.  I think that is also how Paul reached people. He was real. I mean, he was the first to admit he was weak and boast in it even!  God has shown his power through Paul’s weakness. Not just back in the day but even here today.  God’s power is still perfect in Paul’s weakness, and Paul has been gone physically for a looooooong time!  I mean so many people see the power of God just by reading about Paul’s weakness in submitting to the will of the Lord.

If you have “the woo factor” like me…just know. You may get attention. You may be able to draw in a room and win them over like putty in your hands.

Use that moment. That power.  To be perfect in your weakness. Let the power that God has given you in your personality to win people over, be a power that is perfect because you are really weak. Weak to let God work.  Weak to not really know what your doing, but sure glad God does. He makes your steps firm.  I mean just this past Saturday night, I was laying in my bed saying, “Ok God, you know I’m talking about dating. I feel in adequate on this topic.  You have got to speak through me and use my past to bless these teen’s future.”  If you are a “woo,” don’t be afraid to be weak to God…that is when He unleashes His power to work in your life and others.

If your “woo” has you in the public eye…as a star or as a musician or as a teacher or as even a young lady giving a sermonette on a Sunday…be a good steward.  God “wooed” you to Him first.  Woo others to Him too.

The Lord knows how I cried while giving my first speech in the 5th grade.  Who knew I would have “the woo?”  I guess He probably knew I had the potential…I mean, what can I say?  “Woo!”

Leave a Reply

