Directionally Challenged


I am directionally challenged.

I get lost all the time.  Over Christmas I was back in Nashville.  There are like 5 main roads that I based everything off of in Nashville for about 21 years: Hwy 100, Franklin Road, Hillsboro Road, Old Hickory Blvd, and Granny White Pike.  Everything in my little world growing up was off of one of those roads. Well, when I was back there visiting, I got completely confused.  I thought Hillsboro Road was Franklin Road…sooooo not the case.  The run parallel to each other.  You know what would have helped me?  If I had looked at the signs to be sure…. duh. Double duh. Right?  So I ended up being waaaay late to meet some people for dinner, and then I looked rude.  I also made it go way later than it needed to be….and so on and so on for that night.  The problem with being directionally challenged is that there is always this commotion and confusion of not knowing what will happen next because you don’t know if you are going the right way!

Living in a new place, I am completely aware of my directionally challengedness.  It’s aweful. My mom was in the car with me the other day fearing for her life as I held my iphone trying to navigate, while going down this massive mountain.

However, there are other areas of my life where I am not directionally challenged.  For instance, I know exactly what I want to do with my life. I know how to go about doing it.  I also went through certain steps to get me to the platform to be able to do those things.  I have direction.  I have hope. I have a future.  I always look at the signs.  I mean when it came time to decide on a university I had plenty of direction.  I knew what I wanted to do. I picked the best school that I knew of for that.  Then I went there.

You may be thinking, what gives you direction?

I have many things that give me direction.  I have God for one.  I pray.  I am seeking. I have been for a long time.  Therefore, I am more keen to His voice in my life.  I also set aside time to hear His voice.  Another way I get direction is through wisdom of others: mom, friends, mentors.  These people give me wisdom of their own experiences as well as a view from the perspective of people that love me for me.

I get extremely weirded out when people don’t know what to do with their life. My brain just kind of mentally rejects that notion.  Therefore, I tend to have a hard time not rejecting those people.  In my head, I want to say, “Get a grip! Figure it out!  What do you do so well that people would be willing to pay you?  What do you love to do so much that you  would volunteer to do?  Read your signs! Figure it out NuNu (this is a term used during Kojie pledging for those of you wondering).”  I, of course, would never say all that out loud.

You know I think it really is very simple. It can be summed up by 2 verses:

“Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God—this is your spiritual act of worship.”  Romans 12:1

and

“Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light for my path.”  Psalm 119:105

I know you probably have heard these before, but really….any time you are feeling directionally challenged these should give you hope.  For one thing, if you don’t know what to do with your life then you know you have at least one mission that you can be sure-fire of and that is to be a living sacrifice to God.  You are to be living for HIS glory.  You may not have your job figured out, your future school figured out, your marriage figured out, your health figured out, but you can KNOW one thing because I am telling you…Are you listening? I mean, reading?

As long as you do whatever you do as a living sacrifice or reflection of Christ Jesus–you have direction.

Also, the second thing to give you hope from those verses is that you have a lamp to your feet.  A light to your path.  God is your marvelous light.  Seek Him.  He will show you.  Seek Him. Trust Him. Ask Him what to do, and for a change in pace,…listen.  Listen to Him. Listen to the songs you sing. Listen to the words you read.  Listen to those who speak wisdom into your life that love you for you.

Read the signs.

How many of us are directionally challenged?  How many of us have that one area of our lives where we are in fact directionally challenged.  Be careful.  When you get direction, you may become someone speaking wisdom and giving direction…then you become directionally challenged again…so you need to turn around and seek more direction!

So, I guess in some ways even those with what seems to be the most direction are still directionally challenged!

Leave a Reply

