Eyes Wide Open


For whatever reason, I have been really into Switchfoot lately.

It could be because I went to their concert this past November at the House of Blues in Dallas with some teens at HPUMC.  It was SUCH a good concert.  They started the concert out with playing straight through their newest album, then they went on to play some of their “oldies but goodies.”

Since their concert and seeing them perform, one of my newest favorite songs is called “Your Love is a Song.”  John Foreman kind of told the story behind the song, that it was mostly about God, girls, and grace. I just love it.  Sometimes I listen to it on repeat at my desk.  I put the lyrics and the video below from the time they sang when I was there, so you can hear it.

I think what I love about this song is that it focuses in on the fact that we have to keep our eyes wide open in order to recognize that God is working…I mean, the way He works things out is really as beautiful as a symphony. So fine tuned.  So planned. So fine. So much potential. So beautiful. So pure. So orchestrated…so much all of that…how can you not have your hopes unbroken?!

In our Battle Within series this week, we really focused in on prayer.  Do we try to manipulate God through prayer?  How many times do we sit down and “unload” on Him with out listening.  Are we keeping our eyes wide open for Him? Eyes wide open for Him to work?  Eyes wide open for Him to speak to us through others?  Eyes wide open to see that His love is everywhere?  Eyes wide open to the beauty He gives us through hope?

Please read the lyrics below and watch the performance…Keep your eyes wide open to what God is saying to you.

I hear you breathing in
another day begins

the stars are falling out
my dreams are fading now, fading out

I’ve been keeping my eyes wide open
I’ve been keeping my eyes wide open

your love is a symphony
all around me
running through me

your love is a melody
underneath me
running to me

your love is a song

the dawn is fire bright
against the city lights

the clouds are glowing now
the moon is blacking out

I’ve been keeping my mind wide open
I’ve been keeping my mind wide open

your love is a song

with my eyes wide open
I’ve got my eyes wide open
I’ve been keeping my hopes unbroken

Leave a Reply

