Heart Happy


The last few weeks have been fast and furious.

It has been so neat to see the Appalachian Mission Team continue to call each other “family.”  We went bowling last week.  Last night we had a “family dinner.”  This coming week, the team will be giving part of their testimonies at our Middle School Mission trip.  It is so neat seeing how God is working in their lives impacting each other and those around them!

Last week was Go-N-Grow, Cove’s version of VBS.  It was nice to be able to walk over to the main building between meetings and poke my head in classrooms with our teens serving.  Darin and I spent some time at nights with the 4th and 5th graders.  It is always good for them to see our faces so the transition into the youth ministry is an easy one.

I made a quick trip up to Nashville last weekend for the “Hare Family Reunion.”  Of course, reunions remind you of who you are, who you came from, and sometimes where you are headed. I had the chance to spend quite a bit of time with my little sister, Angelina, which is always good. She is growing so quickly, and she is in full “tween” mode!

This week was spent mostly preparing for the middle school local mission trip that we call IMPACT.  I am sooooo excited about it.  We have 60 little middle schoolers headed out to serve in the community.  Our theme is “Let Your Light Shine” based off of Matthew 5:16.  I can’t wait to see what God does in the hearts of these students as they serve as well as in the community.  He is the God of this city, and greater things have yet to come, and greater things are still to be done in this city…that’s my prayer.

In the midst of all the hustle and bustle that is meetings, office work, sermon prep, and prepping for the mission trip, God has blessed me with time to be relational as well!  I have been able to hang out with friends, go to c-group (life group), have good conversations with students, meet up with some other youth workers, serve at manna house, and go to an 8th grade girls Bible study.  At times this week, I thought of ruling out some of the things in the list above, but the relational stuff is what I love the most.  Those moments where I get to wrestle with issues with a student, pray over someone, or laugh until I cry with friends is what keeps me going.  They make my heart happy.

Even though things may be in full swing and pretty fast and furious, my heart is happy.  That is how I know when something is from God…my heart is happy. 🙂

Please pray for our trip next week.  Our students will be updating about the trip on http://coveparents.wordpress.com/.  I am sure that just like the high school mission trips, they will have some neat testimonies and stories.

Find something that makes your heart happy and do it!  It’s worth it!

Leave a Reply

