Not on my watch


I feel like I haven’t been able to laugh very much the last few days, and these videos always make me laugh.  I hope you enjoy it.

I think so many times people view God, Jesus, the church, people in the church, pastors in the light of this video… that essentially this is what God thinks of us or this is what your leader or your peers think when they find out something about you.  The truth is, just about everyone is so very busy trying to look normal they are focusing on themselves more than they are really focusing on you.

This past weekend I attended a Homecoming Dance…as a chaperone. Whoa, way to make me feel officially 25 and old.  The only word I would really use to describe my experience is: enlightening.  It was a learning experience for me.

Our students, young people, children,…all of the ones below age 19 are living in a very different world (Yes, I know I touched on that last week).  These students are faced with such pressure that I never could of fathomed.  Young children will experience things that we probably could of never imagined.  We, as adults, have got to be the spiritual mothers, fathers, brothers, and sisters to the younger and step up to the plate and walk alongside them as they walk through these fires.

The words that have been reeling through my head the last few days are the same over and over again… “not on my watch.”

I can’t tell you how many times I have prayed, “Lord, break my heart for what breaks yours.”  Whew.  That is a dangerous prayer, and the faint of heart should not pray it.  The Lord truly broke my heart the other night.  I got a glimpse.  A glimpse of what He sees in me, in my friends, in my family, in my students.  As much as I love all of those, God loves them sooooo much more than I ever could.  And.  Even when we mess up He still loves us.  He is our hope.  He does not wave His hand like that Jesus in the video and say “You are all sinners and their is no hope.”  Even though I may feel that way at times about myself or others, that is NOT the way of God.  He says, “Dust your shoulders off, and let’s get back on track.  Let me help you up.  Let me get you cleaned up.  Walk with me.”

As a youth leader, or if you are a parent or just a person in the church.  The body of the church is called to live as people who will do just that to the younger.  As long as you are alive you can feed into someone younger than you.  And as long as you are alive, there is always someone older than you that is a little further along on the journey than you.  We have got to be willing to say, “not on my watch.”  We have got to keep pushing to set this generation up with the tools and experience where they can encounter God and truly begin a walk, a lifestyle, a worship to Him in every area of their life.

Who’s with me?

 

Leave a Reply

