Hipsters for Jesus


I feel like everywhere I look, it is like the cool thing to be a hipster.

According to the highly accurate dictionary, Urban Dictionary a hipster is “a subculture of men and women in their 20s and 30s that value independent thinking, counter-culture, progressive politics, an appreciation of art and indie-rock, creativity, intelligence, and witty banter.”

Many of the hipsters I keep running into and seeing are actually hipsters for Jesus.  As I looked at that definition, I guess I can see how Jesus fits into that.  Jesus definitely had some independent thinking.  Jesus was totally counter-culture for his time and today.  The politics of Jesus were extremely progressive,… love your enemy?  I am not so sure if Jesus was into art and indie-rock, but hey, ya never know!  He probably appreciated the artist, God, who made everything, so I guess that counts.  You get the picture.

Many churches that are “popular” or growing fall into this category.  You could base it just on looks, but honestly, North Point, Willow Creek, Passion City Church, 12Stones, Hillsong, Gateway, Fellowship, etc truly has independent thinking in relation to many of the churches in North America today.  No wonder they are revolutionary!

I attended a hipsters for Jesus event the other night.  Ok, it wasn’t officially called that, but it was a Gungor concert in Nashville (artsy-fartsy music city).  I stood in line with a friend who is also a youth minister in town, and we were half way making fun of all the fake hipsters there, as well as in pure awe of the sheer number of them in 1 location.  We looked around, and everyone was high school age to mid 30s.  A few people were outside of that age bracket.  As I saw slews of groups of teens walking around in their skinny jeans, dark rimmed glasses, plaid shirts, vans, and holding their starbucks,…I can’t help but think.  Why are these students basing everything from their style to their drink preference to their style of music after this hipster movement?  Take a look at this…

We went in to the concert, and basically experienced pure genious.  The music was superb.  A guy playing the chello while beat boxing, violins, banjos, clapping, videos that look like the 1950s, outfits from back in the 1820s,… wow.  And just think, I think it may of been one of the most truly pure worshipful experiences I have had.  It could go on the 1 hand of most worshipful experiences I have had  in my lifetime.

If that video and that concert is what it is to be a hipster for Jesus, then I am sold!  I am in!  I will promtly trade in my pearls and get some plaid shirts and vests. (I am just kidding kinda).

I understand why people are craving being a hipster for Jesus. It’s authentic.  It’s true.  It is all about being who you are and who God made you to be.  If you think the colors of the rainbow are not just meant to be in the sky and you want to wear them in your hair,…nobody cares, because it is you.  I was rocking forward to the beat of the music, and then began to think, oh dear, I bet I look awkward.  Then I looked around and realized everyone else was doing that too!  In fact, there were some with hands lifted, one half dancing at the front of the stage, and some sitting quietly.  It didn’t matter because everyone was focused on the music and what it was saying between them and God.

I say all that to say…I understand now.  I promise to no longer make fun of hipsters for Jesus, because I might just be one…well, one that wears pearls. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Hipsters for Jesus

  1. Norbert Verdin says:

    This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks!

  2. Norbert Embertson says:

    I like the valuable info you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here frequently. I am quite certain I will learn plenty of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  3. Danita Hickley says:

    Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with some pics to drive the message home a little bit, but other than that, this is excellent blog. A fantastic read. I will definitely be back.

  4. Julissa Miners says:

    I’m also commenting to make you know what a nice encounter my friend’s daughter experienced going through your site. She mastered some pieces, which included what it is like to have an excellent coaching character to have other individuals without problems grasp a number of specialized issues. You really did more than visitors’ desires. Thanks for distributing the precious, trusted, explanatory and unique tips on your topic to Sandra.

  5. Inger Gayhart says:

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

Leave a Reply

