So there’s that…


It really is true that whoever you spend time with you start to become like them. Hence one of the many many reasons I always am telling youth to be careful who they surround themselves with, because you may become just like them. Last week at Element, we had Holli Jackson from the Lovelady Center come and share her testimony with our students. I was secretly glad that I got to hear it twice since her story has so many twists and turns that eventually lead to her trust and faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. She spent a good amount of time talking about the influence your friends, significant others, and family play in your life and how you respond to them. I am sure with her new life and marriage she has a whole new perspective on things to be thankful for this year.

This season, I have watched everyone post their little “30 days of I’m thankful for…” stuff on Facebook. You can call me scrooge, but those really bog up my newsfeed and take a 2nd place to most annoying posts right behind posts about the election. Isn’t that what a gratitude journal is for?? Yet, here I am about to post my own opinions on life on the internet, so touche, I guess.

As people are actually stopping to think about things they are thankful for, it has made me think about years of Thanksgivings with hope verses ones not so full of hope and excitement. I think it all comes back to our response to life’s situations. For example, the Thanksgiving after my mom was sick, I was just happy she was alive. Period. Last Thanksgiving, I was so very thankful to of just accepted my job at Trinity. It’s all in your perspective.

One of my friends, Laura, interned with us for 5 months, and one of the phrases she uses a lot is “so there’s that.” I had noticed that she says it pretty often. However, it wasn’t until she started her big girl job as an accountant and wasn’t in the office anymore that I realized that I have now adapted the phrase into my normal vocab as well.

Some of the things I, as a younger (I still think I am young) youth minister would of spazzed about, I now have noticed that I can laugh a little and say, “Well, so there’s that.”

I know that we all have choices in our life in what we do, how we respond to things, things we stand for etc. etc. However, sometimes you just have to finally lay it all aside. Worries. Frustrations. The way people treat you. And eventually realize “so there’s that.” Sometimes things are simply out of your control. You can fret and worry and gripe and complain, but at the end of the day you can’t control the situation. By you doing any of those previously mentioned activities it will just frustrate you, others, and ultimately not solve any problems. You have to eventually relent and realize that the sun will (most likely) still come up tomorrow. There is always, and yes I mean always, always, always something to be thankful for,… in every season. It can be as simple as a being thankful for a heart that is still beating to live to glorify Him another day or it can be a new opportunity. All in all, we all have something to be thankful for, so there’s that.

Leave a Reply

