“Knowing” verses “Doing”


“To be or not to be?”

“You have to know when to hold ’em and when to fold ’em.”

“You can’t ride two horses with one bottom.”

“Is that the hill you want to die on?”

“Everything has a price.”

“The hardest choices in life aren’t between what’s right and what’s wrong but between what’s right and what’s best.”

“I have a very strong feeling that the opposite of love is not hate – it’s apathy.”

“We cannot change the cards we are dealt, just how we play the hand.”

“There are some wars you fight and some you walk away from.”

“You can’t have your cake and eat it too.”

All of these things I have heard when it comes to life’s battles and choices.  Life is full of choices. Life is also full of battles. They may be inward battles of the choices you make, and sometimes they are public battles.  Nevertheless,… we all have them over various issues…health, friendships, finances, work, positions, opportunities, relationships, catastrophes and temptations.

As I addressed the high school students on Sunday night, I talked a great deal about what choices you make in the midst of crisis.  I shared with them a verse that has been an anchoring verse for me for the past 9 months or so…and I guess God is not done using it in my life because it has been brought up to me (yet again) a few more times over the last 10 days.

It is Exodus 14:14 which says,

“The Lord will fight for you, you need only to be still.”

In context, this is where Moses is marching with a bunch of escapy slaves with a bunch of Egyptian soldiers chasing them.  They get to the edge of the Red Sea and have no place to go.  Essentially, it seems like there are no options left.  That is when Moses is given this word.  Right after this word is given, the Sea parts and they walk through on dry land to the other side victorious, with out their enemies.

It is by far my all time favorite story in the Old Testiment.  Truely, an edge of your seat, nail biting story.

The part I love the most about it is that God had to do it.  HE had to fight for them.  The options that they had on their own were all exhausted.  They could choose to stay there and be defeated.  They could try and swim…  They could try and fight back with what little possessions they had.  They could hide… in the dessert? Yeah, that wouldn’t work.  However, none of those options were any good.  The only good option they had was to believe that the Lord would take care of it.  The only thing they had to do was make the choice to believe that He actually would fight for them in the only way that He can.

When I am faced with choices, the hardest part I think for me is not figuring out what to do.  Many times I know what I need to do.  I might disguise it that I don’t and ask for confirmation from people I know have my best interest in mind, but all in all I know the answer and what path to take.  It is the actual doing it that is the difficult part.  I know when it is time for me to speak up on something. I know when it is time to keep my mouth shut. I know when it is time for me to swiftly take action.  The “knowing” part isn’t hard.  It’s the “doing” part that is difficult.  Mustering up the courage to do what you know in your “knower” is right.  I have to wonder what those slaves must of felt like when they knew that there was absolutely nothing they could do to get themselves out of that trapped situation…and that they were going to have to wait and let God take care of it.

Really and truly, no matter what battle, crisis, or choice you are facing or end up facing this year…big or small…you most likely know what the answer is and what path to take.  You just have to have the faith to step out and “do” what you know is the right thing,…even if that is standing still and waiting on God to work out the details.

Leave a Reply

