Awake


Just last week, I was at my dad’s house for the 4th of July.  I found myself staying up until 1 am playing cards with cousins and uncles even though I was exhausted.  I just didn’t want to miss out on any fun.  I wanted to not just hear about the fun that was had, but witness it and be a part of it.  I think I have done things like that as long as I can remember.  Even as a little kiddo, I would try to stay awake letting my little droopy eyelids blink at family gatherings and try and will myself, force myself to stay awake.  I just didn’t want to miss anything.

I don’t ever want to miss out.  Even if it is something not positive.  I would rather someone tell me the cold hard truth than humiliate me with me being “asleep” to the news or surprised with it.

Several months ago, I started praying and asking the Lord, “What is it you have for our high school students for High School Discovery Weekend?  What is it you want them to be awakened to know about you, Lord?”  I had my preconceived notions of some good ideas on themes.  However, this same old story kept coming to mind.  The parable of the talents.

The more I prayed about it, studied the word, and sought some instruction on that piece of scripture, I felt sure that there are surely some talents or tokens from that parable that have an ancient truth that can be lived out today…our students just need to be awake to them.

Then, as cliche as it is, I was in a Christian bookstore looking over some curriculum, and this awesome song came on and I was like, yep, there it is… there is our speaker song.  The speaker song is the song we sing right before each speaker for the weekend takes the stage…and you guessed it…it is about being “awake.”  There you have the story of our theme for HS Discovery Weekend.

HS Discovery Weekend 2013

HS Discovery Weekend 2013

If you haven’t been, it is a truly amazing retreat that takes place the Saturday and Sunday after our high schoolers start back to school.  Our disciple group leaders (small group leaders) and other volunteers go up to camp (Springville Camp) the night before to prepare for the students, do some training, have a prayer service, and communion together as a team.

Saturday morning we have some surprises in order for our students as they register at 8am.  Then we will high-tail it up to camp to become awake to God’s love through worship, games, small groups, and a few other things I can’t give away. 😉 All of our speakers for the weekend are college students or young adults.  Our small groups are led by college students, young adults, and some awesome parents.  During the weekend our students get little “clues” throughout the weekend that are there to remind them of God’s love through our church as members in our church have prepared them or donated them.  I am truly excited about this great weekend.  I can’t wait to see how God causes Element’s students to come awake to His love and desires for them this year at HS Discovery Weekend!

“Awake, O sleeper, rise up from the dead, and Christ will give you light.”  Ephesians 5:14

Check out our highlight video from last year below.  We would love for your student to sign up or for you to help!  Sign up at http://www.highschooldiscovery.com!

Leave a Reply

