Shine Conference: Fearless


I rarely do anything big,…especially with my hair with out a well thought out plan being in place.  Back in May, I got my lovely locks cut, and the planner in me was thinking ahead.  I made an appointment for the next hair cut to be August 1st.  I thought, “hmm, I will need my hair long for all my summer trips so that it can dry naturally and be pulled back.  Then at the 1st of August I will have a fresh cut, with a new look for a new month!”  

Well, as you know from my original explanation of this blog …much of my feelings on life is determined by my satisfaction with my hair.  As the days turned into weeks and weeks turned into months, I started getting a little nervous about the big “chop chop” I had been planning for my hair.  As I talked to my mom, friends, mentors, and accountability partners about life and ministry, I would wip out my picture from pinterest of how I wanted to do my hair and ask for their opinions…I mean I must ask them about all things that are important right?

I got my call from Studio Red Salon on Wednesday to confirm my appointment.  On Thursday after work, I headed over to the salon for the big chop.  When I got there, I was told that MY hairdresser had quit that day.  Of all the days, she had up and quit on the day I had planned to fearlessly chop off 8 inches of hair.  I was mortified.  As they assured me that my “sub” would be just fine…I rolled my eyes, looked at my phone that said 5:35pm, and thought, “well, it’s now or never.”  I let her cut it.  It turned out just how I wanted it, and I am liking it so far…and praising the Lord it wasn’t a disaster!

See…

short hair and all!

short hair and all!

You may be thinking, why on earth for the long explanation on her hair?  Well, for 1 thing- you are reading a blog called Big Hare & Big Faith.  When this Hare takes a leap of faith…even with hair, you get to read about it.  2- Faith and fear are opposites, and I just so happened to go to a conference this weekend that talked about being fearless…so that means we talked about having faith!

With my sweet mom

With my sweet mom

For an early Birthday present my mom got me tickets to the Shine Conference (a women’s conference) at Cornerstone Church in Nashville, TN.  One of my top 4 favorite authors was speaking at it named Lisa Bevere from Messenger International.  I have read several of her books, but she spoke a lot about one of the books I wrote about awhile ago called Lioness Arising.  It is all about how the church needs to awaken and be fearless like a lioness.  When I go to a conference, I try to post my notes for you.  I hope you can gleam a nugget of wisdom or get a word from a piece of scripture! Enjoy!

Lisa Bevere

Lisa Bevere

-The church needs women that are virtuous and capable.  The virtuous ones are hiding in the church, and the capable ones are outside the church.

-Jeremiah 25:30- roars like a lion

-I am an answer, not a problem.

-There’s a problem out there, and I am the answer.

-God created us with a purpose to be an answer to a problem.

-No one is interested in joining a club with a nice, powerless Christian.

-Numbers 23:24

-Don’t tell me you don’t have time to obey God.

-Lionesses- Live in the light, and hunt in the dark

-Get with the program.

-2 Corinthians 6:11-13

-God didn’t save you to tame you.

-To get to the men, Satan wants to tranquilize the women…just like the lions.

-Proverbs 6:6-8

-Romans 15:1-2

-2 Corinthians 5:19-20

-We need a healing in our nation that only God can bring.

-Who do you represent? God or people?

-Her beauty isn’t in her form, but in her function.

-Psalm 139:14-19

-Satan attacks us with fear in 2 areas:

1- the nature and character of God

2- the purpose and plan of God

-You either believe the word of God or you don’t.

-Philippians 4:4-8– HE has victory in every situation you could possibly face.

-We don’t deny the battles we are going through.

-The voice of the enemy prophesies fear over your future.

-YOU have to be the one to shut it down and speak to it.

-James 1:24-25

-Looking at vs. looking into the word of God.

-Looking at- use the filter of yourself

-Looking into- seeing through the eye of faith

-We don’t look back, around, or down.  We look up and forward.

-To overcome is not escaping.

-To overcome is something you have to go over or through.

-Your attacks from the enemy have a lot more to do with your future than who you are now or were in the past.

-When you accept Christ and are living for Him 2 things happen:

1- You are a target (for the enemy)

2- You might be a hero (unless the enemy succeeds–then you are a POW or a victim)

-The enemy wants to strip away anything that mirrors the bride of Christ on earth.

-2 Corinthians 10:3-4

-The word of God is the language of your eternal home.

-John 3:31 & 34

-People know where you are from by how you speak and what you say.

-Matthew 16:24

-2 Corinthians 4:7

-We were made to be living epistles.

-Romans 12:1-2

-Acts 10:38

-Zechariah 9:12-17

One thought on “Shine Conference: Fearless

Leave a Reply

