Enjoying the Time


Timing is pretty important.

The most well written joke isn’t good if you don’t hit the punch line at just the right moment.

If something that is good to say is said at the wrong time, then it is just all wrong all together.

No matter how much you have studied for a test, if the teacher doesn’t give you enough time to complete it, then you are up a creek with out a paddle.

If you have an interview but you show up late, you could risk not getting the job.

Maybe you have been given a wonderful opportunity, but you take too much time weighing the options.  Then, the opportunity passes you by and you no longer have that option.

We notice the people in our lives who arrive early and stay late.

There is nothing like having a friend that you know that you can text or call at anytime day or night.

Even the time of the year is important. The seasons all have a specific purpose.  In the winter, trees around us die.  In the spring new growth appears and blooms.  In the summer the trees become full and shady.  In the fall, they rust change colors and fall away.  If the plants didn’t go through this process they might would just stay dead, not have enough nutrients to keep blooming, or limbs get too heavy to hold the leaves.

In Ecclesiastes 3, it talks about timing saying,

“There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens: a time to be born and a time to die, a time to plant and a time to uproot, a time to kill and a time to heal, a time to tear down and a time to build, a time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn and a time to dance, a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them, a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing, a time to search and a time to give up, a time to keep and a time to throw away, a time to tear and a time to mend, a time to be silent and a time to speak, a time to love and a time to hate, a time for war and a time for peace. What do workers gain from their toil? I have seen the burden God has laid on the human race. He has made everything beautiful in its time.”

I think it is important to analyze these “times” and figure out which one you are in for this season of your life.  I was talking with a good friend last night, and each time we talk we usually take a few minutes and talk about “what is God saying to you right now?”  As we were talking, I realized I have changed seasons.  I am now in a season of “gathering stones.”  I was telling her, it is almost as if God has said, “get your life in order.”  It is as if I took a page in a coloring book and I have been just coloring my little heart out.  Now God is saying, “Good job Caroline, now erase the colors that are outside the lines.” I am learning that the best way for me to serve the Lord is by being a good me.  For me that looks like actually scheduling an every 6 month teeth cleaning, actually going grocery shopping instead of eating out because of convienience, making budgets and sticking to it, organizing my office, taking time to rest, doing things that make me happy like having coffee with a friend, painting or going to the beach, increasing my knowledge by reading something I haven’t before, consulting with other ministers, learning to play the drums (a goal for 2014), being present in the moment and knowing that the Lord is with me all the time.

Every time is different, but every time is needed and good. The word says that.  There is purpose in each time and season. It may not make sense at the time as to why you are in that season, but obedience is key.  Walking humbly in obedience.  The other big thing, is enjoying the season.  Whatever it is, chances are He is molding you to be more like Him in some way during it or equipping you so that you can serve Him better.

So take the time to enjoy that time!

2 thoughts on “Enjoying the Time

    • carolinehare says:

      Miss you too!!! I am sorry I didn’t get to see you when I was in town last week! I ended up meeting with some other hs girls… I will get with you before Christmas! 🙂

Leave a Reply

